When a child leaves the kindergarten temporarily or permanently, you have two options regarding how to handle the child's data in TinyApp:

  • Archive the child's data

    or

  • Delete the child data completely

Archiving the child's data

By archiving the child data, nothing is deleted. The archived child is no longer listed in the group and is not visible in the child listing for the kindergarten. The child's parents' TinyApp account still exists, but the parents can no longer see the child's data in their mobile app and can no longer receive any communication in TinyApp.

Archiving is a handy procedure when you want to archive the data in TinyApp or when a child is temporarily out of the group (for example summer vacations or longer holidays) and should not receive active communication from the group during that time.

Tip: it's a good idea to let the parents know beforehand that the child's account will be archived and the data will no longer be accessible in the mobile app to the parents. This way, they are able to save any pictures or videos, or other information before the archiving takes place.

How to archive the child?

  1. Open the child's profile on the Teacher Dashboard

  2. Select "Archive"

  3. Click "Yes" to verify archiving the child

The parents will no longer see the child's data in their mobile app. The child is not visible in the child group or child listing.

How to make the archived child active again?

  1. Select "Children" in the top menu on the Teacher Dashboard

  2. Select "Archived" to list the archived children

  3. Select "Activate" to make the archived child active again

The parents will now see the child in their mobile app. The child is again visible in the child group and child listing.

Deleting the child data completely

You can also delete the child through the child's profile on the Teacher Dashboard by clicking the "Delete" button. All the child's data will then be deleted permanently and will no longer be recoverable.

All parent accounts for this child are also removed at the same time. The parent account will not be removed if the user has other children assigned to him/her in TinyApp.

Tip: make sure to save any important child data on your computer before deleting the child! You can do this by using the data exporting tools (for Admin users only) or by downloading the important documents manually from the child's profile.

Did this answer your question?